The Face of Thrush

This is the face of a baby with Thrush, or more accurately a baby being treated for maybe having Thrush.  After 7.5 weeks of breastfeeding, it still hurts.  Not just uncomfortable pressure but REALLY hurts.  The kind of hurt where every time you’re getting ready to feed, you’re contemplating why in the hell you’re doing this.  Don’t worry moms-to-be, this is not normal.  There’s a really good chance that you’ll have to struggle for the first couple weeks, then all will go smoothly.  Chances are even higher that if you do have a problem it will take less than 7.5 weeks to fix it because you don’t have a take a ferry to see the lactation consultant.

Alright, back to the Thrush.  Thrush is an infection caused by the overgrowth of the natural yeasts you and your baby have.  One of the leading causes of the overgrowth is antibiotics.  The antibiotics I received at the hospital likely killed the good bacteria that keeps these yeasts in check along with the bad bacteria they were targeting.

The result of the infection?  Painful breastfeeding.

The solution?  Daily doses of Genetian Violet for 7 days for both of us.  (The photo of my purple nipples would make for a far less adorable cover photo.)

The aftermath of the remedy?  Purple baby.

Categories: Appointments, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The Face of Thrush

  1. Erica.

    Actually, I’m pro photos of purple nipples! But I’m sorry to hear that breast feeding is such a painful experience for you.

  2. Grandma

    I am hurting for you and baby Harper.

  3. Aunt Felicia

    awww My heart aches for my 2 nieces. Speedy recovery. Love you

  4. I must admit…. the idea of a purple boob shot had me giggling. I’m so sorry you and little H have had such a rough start. I know all too well what it’s like to be nursing a first baby in Cordova. I remember sitting with my first on my lap, in tears. I hope you two girls get everything figured out and you are enjoying the laid back ease of breastfeeding a little one very, very soon.
    Take care~~

  5. Tonight was our last day of treatment and I am a much happier mamma now. Thank you to everyone for your support!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

