Week 23

Week 23 SizeGRAPEFRUIT BABY!

  • At about 10.5 to 11.8 inches and about 12.7 to 20.8 ounces, baby’s not just getting bigger, she’s getting even cuter.
  • She’s forming little nipples (yeah, really!)
  • Her face is fully formed now — she just needs a little extra fat to fill it out.
  • She’s listening to your voice and your heartbeat — and even to loud sounds like cars honking and dogs barking.

Week 23 Baby

From Jessyka:  After a long weekend in Seattle attending the BlogHer Food Conference and visiting with Mom, Dad, and Shannon, I’m back in drizzly Cordova.  Unfortunately I didn’t come home to Jonah (he’s in Juneau for work), but I did come home to 60 More Quick Baby Knits and some beautiful yarn he picked up in Anchorage.  Way to go Jonah!  I already have the pattern picked out for the yarn.  Harper is going to be so fashionable.  Speaking of, also on the kitchen table was a pile of packages, guess I did order quite a few things while trying to make the baby registry….

Getting bigger everyday, I had to graduate to full panel blue jeans.  Oh man they make such a difference, now I don’t need to worry about my pants falling down!  I’ve been buying all my maternity pants at The Gap since they’re my usual non-pregnant pants and I knew they would fit well.  I really didn’t want to have to go through the ordeal of finding jeans that fit right.

Every time we go into Geneva Woods for our monthly appointment, the midwife we’re meeting with asks us if we have any questions.  Usually we can think of one or two, but in the back of my mind I knew there had to be more.  The pregnancy books I had been reading were mostly about what was happening at that moment in the pregnancy:  Which was all fine and dandy but I wasn’t reading about things that were unknown.  Week 14 told me I should get ready for headaches, got that one.  Week 21 told me that the baby is starting to taste the food I’m eating, this fact is cool to know but not instrumental to the health of my baby.

After watching Ricki Lake’s The Business of Being Born (go out and rent this documentary now!), I decided to buy her book Your Best Birth on the same subject.  Finally I started thinking of questions about what is going to happen at the birth.  Just to give fair warning, Ricki Lake is biased towards midwifery but not in the badgering way that a lot of birth documentaries are.  In both her movie and her book, she explains her research and stories of her 2 pregnancies and shares those of others.  It’s the first pregnancy book I’ve read that tells you what drugs and procedures are used on pregnant women.  I have a really long list now for my next appointment, goodluck Trina!  (Trina is one of the 5 midwifes that works at the Geneva Woods Birth Center.  Every time I have an appointment it is with a different midwife, therefore I establish a relationship with all of them.  So far I have met Felicity, Laura, and Karen.)

Categories: Weekly updates | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Week 23

  1. I have a pair of jeans that have one of those panels! Except buying mine were strictly for comfort, not a preggo belly. Also, I cannot wait to see all of your yarn and patterns for Harper! But she was always going to be a stylish lady, even without you making her baby knits, it’s in her blood!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

